Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense in Virginia. Individuals found guilty of this crime can face significant penalties.

Understanding the legal consequences may help you decide on your next steps if you face these charges.

First offense penalties

For a first-time DUI offense, penalties typically include a one-year license suspension, at least $250 in fines and enrollment in the Alcohol Safety Action Program. The minimum of six months with an Ignition Interlock Device (IIC). The court can also require you to take a substance abuse assessment.

According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, you can lose judgment, multi-tasking ability and vision at a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of just 0.2%. You will receive a minimum sentence of five days in jail and an ignition interlock device for six months, if you have a BAC between 0.15% and 0.20%. The minimum jail time increases to 10 days with 12 months of an ignition interlock device if you have a BAC over 0.20%.

Second offense penalties

Someone convicted of a second DUI offense within five years of their first offense, if convicted, will receive:

  • License suspension for three years
  • A mandatory minimum fine of $500
  • A minimum of 20 days in jail or a minimum of ten days in jail and 20 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device installation for one year
  • Mandatory completion of the ASAP

You may also have to take a court-ordered substance abuse assessment.

Third offense penalties

A third DUI offense results in an indefinite license suspension. You may be able to get your license back after three years by meeting certain conditions. You will also have to use an IID in your vehicle indefinitely.

You could also receive a minimum of six months in jail and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000. The court can also order a substance abuse assessment.

Individuals convicted of DUI in Virginia may also face increased insurance premiums, probation and mandatory participation in a Victim Impact Panel. Refusal to submit to a blood or breath test can result in an additional civil penalty and a one-year license suspension.