Trust Our Experienced Legal Counsel

  1. Home
  2.  – 
  3. Traffic Offenses Blog Post
  4.  – Virginia’s ignition interlock device laws

Virginia’s ignition interlock device laws

On Behalf of | Apr 7, 2020 | Traffic Offenses Blog Post |

A resident in Virginia who is arrested for and charged with a suspected driving under the influence of alcohol offense may experience a range of penalties should they eventually be convicted of the charge.

Learning about the different consequences associated with impaired driving charges may help a person get a sense of the impact on their life and start to figure out how to work through each element of the consequences.

Ignition interlock devices in Virginia

As outlined in the Virginia Code, the state law may require a person to install and use an ignition interlock device after receiving a conviction for a drunk driving offense. This may happen even if the person had no previous impaired driving charge convictions on their record. The length of time that a person must use an IID may vary based on the circumstances of their case with minimum requirements starting at either six months or 12 months.

An ignition interlock device prevents a person from starting a vehicle until they first pass a breath test proving they are not under the influence of alcohol at the time. Once the engine has been started and a trip has begun, the IID system sends prompts at random times for the driver to take subsequent tests. Called rolling retests, these aim to confirm ongoing sobriety while driving.

IID monitoring

The Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program monitors a driver’s compliance with an order to use an IID as part of the agency’s overall work to ensure the person completes all classes and other requirements of their case. After being convicted of a DUI charge, a person must report to the ASAP office within 15 days.