Trust Our Experienced Legal Counsel

  1. Home
  2.  – 
  3. Traffic Offenses Blog Post
  4.  – Penalties for various moving offenses in Virginia

Penalties for various moving offenses in Virginia

On Behalf of | Apr 29, 2022 | Traffic Offenses Blog Post |

The consequences of traffic citations on an individual can include higher insurance premiums as well as a hit to that individual’s self-identity as a “safe driver”. In general, though, most people focus on the legal aspects and monetary costs of a traffic charge and conviction.

In Virginia, traffic offenses come with punishments that range from relatively minor to life-changing.

Fine schedule for speeding

The Virginia Courts provide a comprehensive list of fees and fines associated with traffic offenses that apply uniformly throughout the state. The processing fee remains constant for all traffic violations, though certain situations call for different fine levels. For speeding violations, the offender receives a charge of $6 per mile over the speeding limit and a processing fee of $51. This doubles to $12 per mile for tickets in highway safety corridors (e.g., Interstate 81 in Roanoke County/Salem). For example, a speeding violation in a highway work zone costs $7 per mile over the posted speeding limit.

In a residential district, a $200 fine is levied as well as $8 per mile over the speeding limit and the processing fee. This makes the consequences of speeding in a residential area much more punitive than in most other areas. The Virginia code prohibits a clerk or magistrate from deviating from the published fine schedule.

Penalties for driving while intoxicated

Driving while intoxicated is a criminal charge. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor subject to a mandatory minimum fine of $250. Charges for subsequent intoxicated driving convictions increase. A second offense carries a minimum fine of $500 as well as jail time that depends upon how long ago the first charge occurred. A third offense of a DUI within a ten-year period pushes the crime to a Class 6 felony.

Insurance rate shooting up for years

Auto insurance companies will take advantage of any traffic conviction to increase your premium – for each ticket. If you are still on your parents’ policy, their rates will shoot up. And the additional premium hike tends to linger as long as the ticket remains on your driving history. In Virginia, even a simple speeding ticket stay on one’s record for FIVE years.

If you or a loved one are facing any type of traffic charge, you need an experienced and skilled defense attorney who can fight for you. Contact Miller & Webb, LLP, to speak with Mr. Frankl in a free consultation. Call us at 540-627-5131 or send us an email to schedule your free consultati