Trust Our Experienced Legal Counsel

  1. Home
  2.  – 
  3. Traffic Offenses Blog Post
  4.  – Drunk driving charges in Virginia

Drunk driving charges in Virginia

On Behalf of | Jul 3, 2023 | Traffic Offenses Blog Post |

If you are facing drunk driving charges, you need to understand the possible penalties you could face and brace yourself for the impact of the case. Whether you lose your job, or your driver’s license, reputation and even freedom, a DUI could turn your life upside down in many ways. If you are facing charges in Virginia, you need to review the penalties the state imposes on those who drive under the influence.

By taking a smart approach to your case, you could minimize the impact of the case and find a more favorable outcome. Review various details and note any factors that could assist in your defense, such as the violation of your rights during a traffic stop.

The cost and prevalence of DUIs in Virginia

According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, more than 18,600 DUI convictions took place in Virginia over the course of 2019. Based on estimates, the cost of a DUI in this state generally ranges from $5,000 to $20,000. The law treats drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .08% or above as under the influence. Moreover, drivers under the age of 21 can face charges if their BAC level is .02% or higher.

The penalties for DUI charges in Virginia

In comparison to other states, Virginia has especially strict DUI laws. If convicted for the first time, drivers could lose their license for up to one year. Upon a second conviction, drivers can lose their license for up to three years and spend time behind bars.

If you are facing drunk driving charges in Virginia, carefully examine your options.