Trust Our Experienced Legal Counsel

  1. Home
  2.  – 
  3. Traffic Offenses Blog Post
  4.  – Alcohol and drivers under 21 in Virginia

Alcohol and drivers under 21 in Virginia

On Behalf of | Aug 17, 2023 | Traffic Offenses Blog Post |

It is crucial for drivers under the age of 21 and their parents to take a careful look at underage drunk driving laws. As opposed to those over 21, drivers who have not reached the legal drinking age can face charges with much lower blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. As a result, some face serious charges without realizing that a small amount of alcohol in their system can turn their life upside down.

Additionally, some drivers under 21 face charges even though they did not drink alcohol at all. With such a low threshold, various factors can cause a young driver to fail a breath test, and some tests are faulty.

Driving after the unlawful consumption of alcohol

The Virginia Law Library states that if a driver under the age of 21 has a BAC level from .02 percent up to .08 percent, they could face charges for operating a vehicle after unlawfully consuming alcohol. Following such charges, a young driver could face various penalties, including the loss of their license for a year, a $500 fine and community service.

Other ways alcohol charges can affect drivers under 21

Those charged with driving after unlawfully drinking alcohol can face other repercussions. Aside from penalties imposed by the court, they could struggle to get to work or school. High levels of stress and a shattered reputation can also occur. Additionally, these charges could create problems in the future, especially for those interested in working in certain fields.

Young drivers and their families should carefully review the details of the case when charges arise due to driving after illegally drinking alcohol.